Breaking News

Michael W. Belin, MD,
receives 2024 Castroviejo Medal Award

Dr. Michael W. Belin, Professor of Ophthalmology and Vision Science at the University of Arizona, is the recipient of the 2024 Castroviejo Medal Award, which is considered the highest award nationally and internationally in the field of cornea.

More About the Award
Each year the Cornea Society names the most outstanding individual in the field of cornea and anterior segment of the eye to receive the Castroviejo Medal and to deliver the Castroviejo Lecture at the Society's scientific symposium at the American Academy of Ophthalmology annual meeting.  This is the Society's highest award and is given in recognition of exceptional contributions in support of the Society's mission: to promote knowledge, research and understanding in cornea, external disease and refractive surgery.  The award is named for Ramon Castroviejo, MD, the father of modern corneal transplant surgery and the inspiration for the founding of the Cornea Society.